Grand Ukulele album by Jake Shimabukuro

Grand Ukulele album by Jake Shimabukuro

Grand Ukulele is Jake Shimabukuro‘s highly anticipated follow up to his last record, 2011’s “Peace Love Ukulele“, which topped Billboard’s World Albums chart. Shimabukuro describes recording the album as a “truly magical experience for me. I’m just excited.” All the tracks on the album (a mix of original songs, as well as covers) were played and recorded live. “There were absolutely no overdubs,” notes Shimabukuro. “Bringing all these people together, and everyone brings their own experience, their own background, their own interpretation, their own spirit, and love and passion for music.”

Jake Shimabukuro “fuses a multitude of genres” (Billboard) on the new LP, which can be heard on album highlight “Island Fever Blues,” merging classical & blues over a fast-paced flamenco beat. Elsewhere on the album Jake tackles the playing style of the mandolin (“Gentlemandolin”), rockabilly (“More Ukulele”) and surf rock (“Ukulele Five – 0”), and even transforms his instrument to mimic the intricate melody of a music box (“Music Box”). ‘Grand Ukulele’ also features covers of Adele’s “Rolling In the Deep,” Sting’s “Fields of Gold” and the Judy Garland classic “Over the Rainbow.” Here’s the tracklisting:

1. Ukulele Five-O
2. Rolling In The Deep
3. Gentlemandolin
4. More Ukulele
5. Missing Three
6. Music Box
7. 1 4 3
8. Over The Rainbow
9. Island Fever Blues
10. Field of Gold
11. Gone Fishing
12. Akaka Falls

Produced by Alan Parsons, assistant engineer of the Beatles “Abbey Road” and Pink Floyd’s “Dark Side of The Moon.” Orchestration for the CD was done by Kip Winger, and it’s a real treat. The album will not only take Jake to the next level, but is poised to redefine the Ukulele itself. Jake’s version of “Over The Rainbow” is completely “over the top” and his cover version of “Rolling In The Deep” is incredible.

The album will be released on October 2, 2012. You can order on Grand Ukulele - Jake Shimabukuro or amazon.

Jake Shimabukuro promo for Grand Ukulele album

Grand Ukulele (full album stream)

Jake Shimabukuro promotes his Grand Ukulele album

Leave a Reply